Azhar Honoured With Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award 2017

Download PDF
Anas Baqai, Sports Editor, 6D

Hyderabad, Former Captain of India Cricket Team and Ex-MP Mohammad Azharuddin and retired IAS officer M.Gopala Krishna received Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Awards 2017 on the occasion of Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavna Yatra Commemoration Day. The 27th Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Day was observed near Charminar in Hyderabad recently.

The Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Yatra Commemoration Committee has been observing programs every year on this day for the last 27 years and honoring the distinguished personalities to promote the ideals of late Rajiv Gandhi.

N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, TPCC President and many other Congress leaders have also participated in the programme. It is to be mentioned that in 1990, Rajiv Gandhi, the former Prime Minister of India had hoisted the flag of the party at Charminar and started Sadbhavana Yatra in twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad. Since then, the day is observed every year to commemorate Rajiv Gandhi’s Sadbhavana Yatra.

I will continue working for peace and harmony in the country – Mohammad Azharuddin

While speaking on the occasion, Mohammad Azharuddin said that he is deeply honoured to receive such coveted award. He thanked congress committee and party leaders for choosing him as the Sadbhavna ambassador. He said that he had received many awards during his cricketing career, but this one is very special for him. He paid tribute to the Late Mr. Rajiv Gandhi. While talking to 6D, He also promised that he will continue to work towards the peace and harmony in the country. He said that nation is going through a tough time. Nation needs sensible and protective leaders. Nation needs broadminded leaders who put nation and its interest in top priority beyond religion, cast, creed or region. Nation needs leaders like Mr. Rajiv Gandhi. He said that People have started realising that it was the work done by congress government in its previous ten years in power, has made nation strong in every sector.

TPCC President Capt N. Uttam Kumar Reddy will hoist the Congress party flag at Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana yatra commemoration pole where Rajiv Gandhi hoisted the party flag prior to commencement of his Sadbhavana Yatra. AICC Inchare for Telangana R.C. Khuntia, former union ministers S. Jaipal Redd and Sarvey Satyanarayana, TPCC Working President Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu, CLP leader K. Jana Reddy, Leader of opposition in Council Shabbir Ali and other leaders will also participate in the programme, informed Congress leader G. Niranjan on Friday.

Former recipients of the Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavna Award include Mother Teresa, Shenai maestro Ustad Bismillah Khan, Grameen Bank founder Muhammad Yunus of Bangladesh, Former Assam Chief Minister Hiteswar Saikia and freedom fighter Subhadra Joshi (jointly), Lata Mangeshkar, Sunil Dutt, Jagan Nath Kaul, Dilip Kumar and author Kapila Vatsyayan, Wahiuddin Khan(Islamic scholar), Kiran Seth(founder of SPIC MACAY) (2011). Other recipients are civil society activists Teesta Setalvad and Harsh Mander (jointly), S N Subbarao, Swami Agnivesh and Madari Moideen (jointly), former President K R Narayanan, Nirmala Deshpande, Hem Dutta (2007), N Radhakrishnan and Gautam Bhai.




Download PDF

Related Post